» home » media releases

Media releaseDowload Release in PDF Format

Date: February 14, 2000

Outstanding Individuals to Receive Honorary Degrees At Millennium Festival

Twelve outstanding men and women, whose significant contributions to society in the 20th century will continue to shape the new one, will receive honorary degrees at a special convocation on April 7. The ceremony is the highlight of the Millennium Festival, a week-long series of events running April 1 to 7 that celebrates achievements at UVic and in the community at the start of a new millennium.

The 12 men and women to be honoured are:
Louise Arbour, Supreme Court Justice and former prosecutor for the International Criminal Tribunals in Yugoslavia and Rwanda;
Maude Barlow, an outspoken advocate of citizens' rights and national volunteer chair of the Council of Canadians;
Dr. Helen Caldicott, peace activist and former president of the Nobel Peace Prize-winning Physicians for Social Responsibility;
Vicwood Chong, Hong Kong businessman and philanthropist, well known in China, the Philippines and Guinea for his dedication and generosity to educational causes;
Adrienne Clarkson, former broadcaster, writer, publisher, producer and lecturer and now Governor General of Canada;
Dr. Paul Gabias, a B.C. psychologist and lifelong advocate for equality and empowerment for the blind;
George Heller, CEO of the Hudson's Bay Company, whose successful stewardship of the 1994 Commonwealth Games in Victoria led to a $60 million legacy of sport and community facilities in the region;
Dr. Myer Horowitz, one of Canada's most eminent scholars in the field of education, whose work is recognized nationally and internationally;
Dr. Mo Im Kim, Minister of Health and Social Affairs in Korea, widely considered the intellectual and moral leader of the nursing profession in that country;
Susan Point, internationally acclaimed Coast Salish artist whose work can be seen across Canada, including a major installation at the Vancouver International Airport;
Dr. Amartya Sen, winner of the 1998 Nobel Prize in economics for his contributions to welfare economics;
John Walton, outstanding businessman and community service activist, best known as chair of the Victoria Commonwealth Games Society.

The honorary degrees will be presented in University Centre Farquhar Auditorium. A limited number of tickets will be available to the public on a first-come first-served basis on March 17.

Due to scheduling difficulties, Vicwood Chong is unable to come to Victoria to receive his degree.

Media contacts:
Patty Pitts (UVic communications) at (250) 721-7656.

UVic media releases and other resources for journalists are available on the World Wide Web at http://communications.uvic.ca/media

(image: fern)