» home » media releases

Media releaseDowload Release in PDF Format

Date: July 14, 2000

Two UVic Scholars Elected To Royal Society

Two UVic faculty members have just joined the ranks of Canada's academic elite.
Dr. Vijay Bhargava (electrical and computer engineering) and Dr. James Tully (political science) have been elected fellows of the prestigious Royal Society of Canada --considered the highest Canadian accolade for a senior academic.
The 118-year-old society promotes learning and research in the arts and sciences through its three academies: the Academy of Science, the Académie des lettres et des sciences humaines, and the Academy of Humanities and Social Sciences.
Bhargava, who is the first member of UVic's engineering faculty to be elected into the society, is being recognized for his novel research into wireless mobile communication systems. His many honours include the 1993 B.C. Science and Engineering Gold Medal in Engineering and Applied Engineering from the Science Council of B.C. and the 1995 McNaughton Medal, the highest award given by the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) Canada.
Last year, Bhargava went to London's Whitehall Palace to receive the IEEE's Haradan Pratt Medal for "meritorious service." As vice-president of the organization's regional activities, he had travelled to 31 countries to promote membership in what is the world's largest technical professional society.
Tully, chair of UVic's political science department, is a scholar in the history of European and North American political thought and contemporary political philosophy, specializing in constitutionalism in culturally diverse societies. He has published seven books on topics ranging from political philosophy to Canadian politics.
From 1992-1996, Tully was an advisor to the Canadian Royal Commission on Aboriginal Peoples. Recently, he has written a number of articles on indigenous peoples' equality, self-government and land claims.
The election of Bhargava and Tully brings the total number of UVic faculty members holding Royal Society fellowships to 33. The pair will join colleagues from across Canada at an induction ceremony in Ottawa on Nov. 17.
Media contacts:
Dr. Vijay Bhargava (engineering), (250) 721-6043/8617
Dr. James Tully (political science), (250) 721-6489

UVic media releases and other resources for journalists are available on the World Wide Web at http://communications.uvic.ca/media

(image: fern)