» home » media releases

Media releaseDowload Release in PDF Format

Date: June 20, 2008

Murray Farmer Elected As Next UVic Chancellor

Murray Farmer, a Victoria community and business leader, will be the University of Victoria’s 10th chancellor.

Farmer received 2,512 votes compared to 1,326 for candidate Jim Dutton, a retired Victoria cardiovascular-thoracic surgeon. Month-long balloting among members of the UVic convocation closed at 4:30 p.m. today.

The chancellor is the titular head of the university, confers degrees, and serves on the board of governors and senate.

Farmer will succeed Chancellor Ron Lou-Poy whose second and final three-year term concludes on December 31. A formal installation of the new chancellor will take place during June 2009 Spring Convocation ceremonies.

Farmer graduated from UVic in 1968 with a bachelor’s degree in economics. He is a past recipient of the UVic Alumni Association’s Distinguished Alumni Award for Lifetime Achievement and currently serves as chair of the UVic board of governors.

He is president of Farmer Industries Group, with interests in the construction, development and hospitality industries. With his wife, Lynda, he is a co-owner of a Central Saanich equestrian training facility for young people.

Farmer has also provided leadership to several local organizations including the Victoria Foundation, the Sidney Marine Discovery Centre Campaign, the Royal BC Museum and the United Way of Greater Victoria.

Farmer was nominated by the board of directors of the UVic Alumni Association.

Voting for the chancellor was conducted among UVic alumni; past and present members of the university’s board of governors and senate; regular and retired faculty members; regular staff members (with a university degree and at least one year of service); and former students of Victoria College who completed one year of studies prior to 1963.

Four members of senate were previously elected by acclamation: Kathleen Barnes, Betty Clazie, Larry Cross and Gail Flitton. The new chancellor and senators will hold three-year terms commencing Jan. 1, 2009.
Media contacts:
Bruce Kilpatrick (UVic Communications) at (250) 920-6413 or abk@uvic.ca

UVic media releases and other resources for journalists are available on the World Wide Web at http://communications.uvic.ca/media

(image: fern)