» home » media tips » Media Tips

October 08, 2013

Media tips & leadsDowload Release in PDF Format

Experts on Higgs for Nobel Prize

The University of Victoria played a key role in tracking down the Higgs boson particle last year. Now its researchers are available to comment on the 2013 Nobel Prize in Physics being awarded to Prof. Peter W. Higgs and Prof. François Englert, as announced today in Canada by TRIUMF, the national laboratory for particle and nuclear physics:

Robert McPherson (UVic Physics & Astronomy/IPP scientist/TRIUMF) is a UVic adjunct professor and current ATLAS-Canada spokesperson. He can explain the Brout-Englert-Higgs theory, how it culminated in last year’s discovery, and next steps for the international experiment. UVic has been at the forefront of the subatomic action in the subterranean particle accelerator near Geneva since bringing Canada into ATLAS in 1992. (Available day and night for today’s announcement: by cell at 604-723-2294, landline at 604-222-7654 or by email at either rmcphers@uvic.ca or rmcphers@triumf.ca)


Michel Lefebvre (UVic Physics & Astronomy) is a high-energy particle physics professor at UVic and the founding spokesperson of ATLAS-Canada. He can describe how the Higgs theory explains the origins of mass. (Available today except between 3 and 5 p.m.: by landline at 250-721-7706 or by email at lefebvre@uvic.ca)

UVic-produced video with Michel Lefebvre:

To view a TED Ed animated video: http://ed.ted.com/lessons/the-higgs-field-explained-don-lincoln
To view more Faces of UVic Research videos: www.youtube.com/user/FacesOfUVicResearch.


More on UVic-ATLAS/Large Hadron Collider (LHC)
The LHC is a circular tunnel buried 100 metres underground near Geneva, Switzerland around which trillions of protons are sent into deliberate head-on collisions, with the resulting subatomic debris producing data which allows researchers to explore even more closely the very building blocks of matter. The LHC will restart in early 2015. The UVic-ATLAS team—which benefited from early work by UVic particle physicists Drs. Alan Astbury and Richard Keeler—also now includes Drs. Justin Albert, Robert Kowalewski, Randall Sobie and Isabel Trigger, as well as more than 25 students, associates, technicians, computer experts, engineers and scientists.

Follow LHC news on Twitter: @CERN #LHC

-- 30 --

  Media Contacts:

Tara Sharpe (UVic Communications & Marketing) at 250-721-6248 or tksharpe@uvic.ca

Follow us on Twitter: @uvicnews

UVic media releases & resources for journalists: http://communications.uvic.ca/media

UVic media releases and other resources for journalists are available on the World Wide Web at http://communications.uvic.ca/media

(image: fern)